ON Student Film Festival 2017 Awards
Students from the Netherlands excel this year
The Mohammed Bin Rashid School for Communication (MBRSC) at AUD held the fourth edition of the Original Narrative (ON) Student Film Festival 2017 from March 25-27, in collaboration with strategic partners Dubai International Film festival - DIFF and MBC Group. More than 300 films had been submitted by students from Europe, US, Asia and the Middle East.
The closing ceremony was held at Alserkal Avenue, where the awards were given out in the presence of the festival committee members, the jury members, the contestants, as well as students and professors from AUD.
The Best Fiction award went to Dutch student director Joren Molter for his film titled Greetings from Kropsdam; shortlists were judged on storyline, sound and image quality.
The Best Documentary award went also to a Dutch student director, Sebastian Mulder, for his film titled Nature: All Rights Reserved; shortlists were judged on storyline, sound and image quality, as well as performance believability.
As for Best Animation, the award went to Neighbourwood, a film by German student director Fynn Grosse-Bley; shortlists were judged on storyline, sound and image quality, as well as aesthetic innovation.
The Honorable Mention, an award given by the jury in recognition of one who has performed well and distinctively in the competition, was given to Dutch student director David Eilander for his fiction film titled Op Zuid.
Finally, the People’s Choice Award went to Lebanese student director Carl Halal for his animation film titled Arab Winter.
Dr. Carol Moufarrej, Associate Dean of the Mohammed bin Rashid School for Communication at AUD praised the efforts of the festival committee and the spirit of cooperation between students and filmmakers from many foreign countries. “This is another successful edition of the ON Festival and I am very pleased with both the attendance and quality of the collaboration between students and professionals. Congratulations to all the winners and hope to see everyone back for next year’s edition!”